Old 27-07-2015, 02:24 PM   #1
Chat Virgin

Default I want to open a shop!

Hi guys!

Looking for some advice about maybe opening a tattoo shop.
'Why are you posting in the apprentice threads?!' I hear you cry... well, I'm not a tattooist, and I'm not an apprentice.
BUT HOLD ON.
BARE WITH ME.
I want to be an apprentice, and I am not apposed to going about it the old fashioned way, but I also have the opportunity to do it a little differently.
I have been saving, and I have come into a little money, and basically I can't handle 'normal' jobs. I sit at work and daydream about it all being different, and now an opportunity has presented itself and I wanna take the chance.
I have been making money from art for quite a few years but I want to step it up. Owning my own shop would be amazing. I DO NOT want to skip the apprentice stage, please don't think that. I am not talking 'self taught and ready to rumble.' I want to hire a tattooist (or two), AND be the apprentice to them.

Here's what makes me think it's doable:
-I know I can run a business, and my partner already runs a business and is more than willing to help (I have been heavily involved in the process.) I know it isn't a walk in the park, and though it's not a tattoo parlor, I believe the experience gives me a good idea of what to expect.
-I have enough money (I think), and can apply for grants.
-I have arty talent, and have been earning from commissions & doing concept art for a few years.
-I am booking myself in to do a piercing course in a few weeks time, so I can be useful even though I won't be tattooing straight away.
-If it all goes to s**t I still have a shop I can run, even if I'm not tattooing.
-If it really, REALLY goes to s**t, it was an experience (bright side?!)

Here's why I need advice: