Old 09-01-2009, 01:25 PM   #1
Chat Virgin

Default Finding an artist

Hey all,

First off, I'm a tattoo noob - I have no ink but I'm looking to get some. I'm now 22, and I've been carefully considering what I'd like since around 18-19.

I'm confident I know what I want design wise, but I'm wondering - how to find an artist?

I've visited four local (within 30 miles) studios to have a chat and a look around portfolios etc.

I've bought a few issues of Skin Deep and one article mentioned something interesting regarding the quality of tattoos coming from a studio in Middlesbrough (which is 20 minutes from me). The article read something like

'You wouldn't exect great tattoos to be coming from Middlesbrough, Usually they're from London, Leeds or Birmingham'

Now, I know there's no conclusive list of 'who's the best' tattoo artist - but I'm struggling to weed out the great guys from the OK guys.

For example, if you ask someone who's the best footballer in the UK you'd get 100 different answers, but names like Ronaldo, Rooney etc (I'm not into football ) would keep coming up.

I guess I'm asking for people opinions, I'm after a single colour (greywash?) tattoo, full sleeve in a contempory style - any names to look out for?

Thanks in advance,

Jim
Flan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 01:33 PM   #2
Jedi Chat Master

First of all welcome!

You have the correct approach by doing your homework, I wouldn't agree with the comment about only getting good work in London etc .... there is a whole host of amazing talent throughout the UK, someone will be along shortly to give you a good list ... You have chosen a black'n Grey style tattoo and I can tell you that in the UK are some of the worlds best!

Dont let distance time or cost put you off, a good tattoo is worth all of that and much more
buelligan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 01:39 PM   #3
Chat Virgin

Quote:
Originally Posted by buelligan View Post
First of all welcome!